Relax and Reboot

What did you do this weekend to Relax and Reboot?

I spent time in my garden.  Everyone needs a place that is safe, quiet, and free of judgement.  The garden is that place for me.  I get lost in the beauty of nature, the optimism of plants, and the diversity of colors, textures, and sizes they bring.  The Hollyhocks (Alcea) below take me back to my childhood.  My mom cultivated a wall of Hollyhocks of various colors next to our house.  As an adult, I find myself closer to the plants I also knew as a child.  I am struck by how tall Hollyhocks stand and the simplicity of the flower they wield.  Time tending my Hollyhocks helps to relax and reboot me.

Hollyhocks, is a genus of about 60 species of flowering plants in the mallow family.  They are biennial or short-lived perennial plants growing to 3.5 m (11.48 ft) tall, with broad, rounded, palmately lobed leaves and numerous flowers on the erect central stem.

2 responses to “Relax and Reboot

Leave a Reply

